Tehachapi's Online Community News & Entertainment Guide

Assemblyman Fong announces 2020 Nonprofit of the Year

Assemblyman Vince Fong honored Sikh Riders of America as the 34th Assembly District's Nonprofit of the Year. Sikh Riders of America is a nonprofit organization that is dedicated to bettering the community by raising funds for various community programs throughout the local region including supporting public health, our military and veterans, and our local law enforcement.

"We, as a community, are incredibly fortunate to have an organization like Sikh Riders of America who are always helping those in need," said Fong. "During this time, they donated over 5,000 face shields to our local front-line workers when they were in need of PPE on top of their support for other local charities. It is my honor to recognize Sikh Riders of America for their work and their contributions to our community."

Sikh Riders of America was established in 2012 after many Sikhs were the target of hate crimes due to mistaken identity, and have been working to promote greater understanding.

"We are so honored to be a part of this community and to be able to make a difference at home," said Gurinder Singh Basra, President of Sikh Riders. "We are grateful that we can continue to be partners in our communities and being recognized for our commitment is a great honor."

To date, Sikh Riders of America has raised close to $165,000 to benefit local nonprofits including Kern County Blue Star Moms, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Bakersfield Chapter, American Legion Post 26 and the Kern County 999 Foundation.

This is the fifth annual California Nonprofits Day Celebration hosted by California Association of Nonprofits. CalNonprofits is a statewide membership organization that brings nonprofits together to advocate for the communities they serve.

Assemblyman Vince Fong represents the 34th Assembly District, encompassing most of Kern County including the communities of Bakersfield, Bear Valley Springs, China Lake, Frazier Park, Golden Hills, Inyokern, Lebec, Oildale, Ridgecrest, Taft and Tehachapi.