The Loop Newspaper - Tehachapi's Online Community News & Entertainment Guide

Tehachapi Valley Wrestling Club


May 11, 2019

Photo provided

From left: Kayden Gonzales, Jake Brown, Curtis Nelson and Michael Brown.

Three wrestlers represented Tehachapi VALLEY WRESTLING CLUB at The California USA Wrestling Kids Greco State Championship, held at Selland Arena on April 13.

First year wrestler Jake Brown, competing in the Bantam 43-pound division, placed second and earned a California Bear Trophy. Kayden Gonzales and Michael Brown both wrestled in the Intermediate 71-pound Division. Kayden finished the day with fourth and Michael completed the day with sixth. Also competing the same day was Elijah Grave, in the California USA Wrestling Cadet Freestyle Championship. Even though he did not place, he continues to gain experience against tough competitors.

Photo provided

Back row from left: Levi Hart, Reese Hart and Anthony Ashby. Front: Edward Reyna.

Tehachapi VALLEY WRESTLING CLUB had 17 wrestlers compete at the KCWA Coyote Classic in Shafter on April 27. With over 400 wrestlers from throughout California and Nevada hitting the mats, TVWC had multiple winners and placers. Winning their age group and weight class were: Jake Brown, who continues to have a very successful first year in the Bantam 45-pound weight division. Allison Willer has returned to the mat and dominated her completion at Girls Bantam 56-pound. Michael Murrillo competed in his first Freestyle event this year and took home the Singlet award. The brother/sister duo of Levi Hart, Schoolboy 97 and Reese Hart, Girls Novice 102, continue to battle some very tuff opponents in their brackets to earn the first place honors. Kayden Gonzales placed second in the Intermediate 71-pound division. Elijah Graves had some tough matches and ended the day with third in the Cadet 145-pound division. Gabriel Cordova, Intermediate 59-pound, placed third, as well as Edward Reyna at Bantam 56-pound.

TVWC had many wrestlers advance through their 16 man brackets, but did not place. They were: Marcus Coates, Bentley Folks, Phillip Coates, Noe Mesa, Andre Cordova, Gabriel Mesa, Michael Brown and Anthony Ashby.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 03/28/2021 05:41