Tehachapi's Online Community News & Entertainment Guide

Councilmembers sworn in, Mayor elected

City of Tehachapi

On Monday December 21, the Tehachapi City Council meeting began with the swearing in of Councilmembers Michael Davies representing District 3, Christina Scrivner representing District 2, Victoria Marsh as City Clerk, and Stacy Curry as City Treasurer.

The first order of business for the new council was to elect a new Mayor. Councilmember Phil Smith was nominated for the position of Mayor and was unanimously elected.

The first order of business for Mayor Phil Smith was to open the meeting to elect a Mayor ProTem. Councilmember Michael Davies was nominated and unanimously elected to the position of Mayor Pro-Tem. The position of Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem are two-year terms, the nominations and voting is done between the five elected councilmembers.

“Congratulations to Mayor Phil Smith, and to all who volunteer their time to serve the residents of the City of Tehachapi. Also, a big thank you to Councilmember Susan Wiggins who served as Mayor for the past few years, stepping in after the passing of Mayor Ed Grimes and leading the City of Tehachapi through a very challenging 2020,” said City Manager Greg Garrett. Mayor Phil Smith will be serving his fifth term as Mayor during his 34 years of continued service on the Tehachapi City Council.

All newly elected positions ran unopposed in the 2020 election.