Author photo

By Pat Doody 

City Council almost complete

Tehachapi City Council Update


December 22, 2018

Pat Doody

After a long and somewhat contentious election campaign season, the newly elected City Council members were sworn in at the Dec. 17 City Council meeting. Mayor Pro Tempore Susan Wiggins and Councilman Phil Smith were both reelected by their districts and Michael Davies was elected to complete the at-large term of the late Mayor Ed Grimes. The other new member to the Council, Joan Pogon-Cord, was out of town and will be sworn in at the Jan. 7 meeting. A recount held prior to the Monday night meeting of all votes for Districts 1 and 5 and for Grimes' at-large seat showed no change in the election results. The recount was requested by failed at-large candidate Pete Graff.

Susan Showler was also sworn in as the elected city treasurer. Showler had been appointed to the position following the resignation of Jenny Burt.

The Council voted their approval to the final draft of the Americans with Disabilities Act Self-evaluation and Transition Plan outlining all the City facilities that need upgrades to be ADA compliant that had been introduced at the Dec. 3 meeting with the addition of the bathroom at the airport which was requested by Councilman Hetge.

City Manager Greg Garrett reported that the City of Tehachapi has completed two years without any time-loss accidents.

"Last year was the first time in the City's history," said Garrett adding, "Safety is No. 1," with the City.

At the close of the meeting, Councilman Michael Davies said that he wanted to personally thank Councilman Dennis Wahlstrom for his years of service to the city and for the last four years on City Council.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 01/06/2023 18:56