Tehachapi's Online Community News & Entertainment Guide

Three TVHD Board seats to be on November ballot

At the June 18 meeting of the Tehachapi Valley Healthcare District, Director Carl Gehricke announced that he would not be running for reelection in November when his term is up. Gehricke was appointed to the Board in 2021 on the retirement of Dr. Sam Conklin.

As a result of Gehricke’s announcement, there will be two four-year terms and one two year term TVHC board seats on the November ballot. Earlier in the year, Director William Steele, whose term is also up in 2024, announced that he was moving out of state and BreAnne Patterson from Adventist Health Tehachapi Valley Hospital was chosen to complete his term. She has the option to run for the seat in November for a full four-year term.

Director Dwayne Moats also resigned mid-year. Christine Sherrill, who had previously served on the TVHD Board, was chosen to complete the remainder of this year. She will also have the option to run for the remaining two years of Moats’ term.

The nomination period for the November election opens on July 15 and runs until Aug. 9. Anyone who may be interested in running for any of the open TVHD Board seats can obtain information at http://www.kernvote.com/. Potential candidates only need to reside within the healthcare district to run.

Information about the operations of the Tehachapi Valley Healthcare District can be found on their website at http://www.tvhd.org/.