The Loop Newspaper - Tehachapi's Online Community News & Entertainment Guide

Installation of new officers

AAUW of Tehachapi


May 11, 2019

Photo provided

From left to right: Joan Cote', Jan Combs, Laura Amstead, Janice Armstrong, Lauren Hollen and Joanne Beckett.

The Tehachapi Mountain Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) recently held their annual end-of-year meeting. Election and installation of new officers for the 2019-2020 year was held, and appointed positions were also announced. New officers include: President, Laura Amstead; President Elect, Joan Cote'; Program Vice Presidents, Jan Combs and Lauren Hollen; Membership Vice President, Joanne Beckett; AAUW Funds Vice President, Janice Armstrong; Secretary, Connie Brehm; and Finance Officer/Treasurer, Phyllis Belcher. Jeanette Crounse presided over the installation ceremony, and gifts were presented to each new officer.

Established in 1881, AAUW is a national association whose mission is to advance gender equity for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy. Tehachapi Mountain Branch of AAUW began in 1984, with a special interest in providing local scholarships. On June 2, at their Scholarship Banquet, the branch will give about $15,000 to recent Tehachapi High School graduates, as well as to women who are re-entering college (after taking a break to work or have children). To date, they have granted over $240,000 in local scholarships.

The branch also sponsors local middle school girls to attend Tech Trek (STEM) camps each summer, located on the campuses of various universities. They are run entirely by AAUW members and feature hands-on activities in math, science, and related fields. This year, funds were raised to send five girls to camp: Caitlyn Chitwood, Grace Keller, Regan Rodriguez, Annaliesse Watkins and Serenity Whitman. The girls and their families were introduced at the annual program. The camperships were made possible by generous donations from local companies: BHE Renewables, Scaled Composites, AST and Tammy Engel.

Photo provided

AAUW is sponsoring five girls from Jacobsen Middle School for Tech Trek (STEM camp) this summer.

Monthly AAUW branch meetings will resume in September, but special interest groups such as Book Group, Great Decisions and Lunch Bunch will continue throughout the summer. Membership is open to both men and women with a two-year or higher college degree, upon payment of $99 yearly dues. Memberships in the 2019-20 AAUW year are now being accepted. Contact Joanne Beckett at (661) 972-6508 for more information.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 07/17/2021 22:55