The Loop Newspaper - Tehachapi's Online Community News & Entertainment Guide

Tehachapi Valley Arts Association Photo Contest winners


Nick Smirnoff (NPPA)

Landscape and Nature blue ribbon was awarded to Shridan Morigeau. Shridan took the photo shortly after a rainfall while working at Fort Erwin. " I just loved the clearing sky and the light shining on the hills".

"Wow these are fantastic, I'm not sure I want to do this now." "How are we supposed to pick just one? Can we have a tie?" "These are just too good," were among the murmurings overheard during the judging session at Gallery 'N' Gifts for this year's Photo Contest. Over 50 photographers joined the fun for the winter edition of the contest with 175 entries in seven different categories. It took quite a while, but the judges finally submitted their choices and you are invited to view the entries and see the results through the month of February. Our Summer "Take Your Best Shot" contest will be held in August, with submissions due the last week of July. Check after March 1st for contest rules and categories.

Best of Show:

Jessica Martin

"Princess in the Woods"


1st: Jessica Martin

2nd: Susan Burt

3rd: Terry Dickerson

HM: Gil Valencia and

Patty Cox

Black & White:

1st: Matthew Clark

2nd: Katherine Bowman

3rd: Gary Grela

Details & Macros:

1st: Matt Miller

2nd: Kiera Judkins

3rd: Jessica Martin

HM: Nancy Wilkinson

Landscape & Nature:

1st: Shridan Morigeau

2nd: Susan Burt

3rd: Sonja Bronsen

HM: Garrett Palmer and

Joanne Cable


1st: Jessica Martin

2nd: Megan Bowman

3rd: Sylvia Sattler

HM: Laurie Rott and

Larry LaCom

Travel & Architecture:

1st: Garrett Palmer

Nick Smirnoff (NPPA)

Best of Show went to Jessica Martin, of her daughter in her new dress while walking in Bear Valley Springs last fall. "My daughter Riley had just gotten this new dress and we went for a walk I had my Cannon-80D and took the photo in the beautiful Autumn light."

2nd: Dago V

3rd: Polly Sherritt

HM: Kim Downey and

Kathy Valencia

Youth Photography:

1st: Morgan Lewis

2nd: Austin Garrett

3rd: Mikailey Judkins

HM: Kira Pankow and

Anna Boesler


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 07/14/2019 05:37