The Loop Newspaper - Tehachapi's Online Community News & Entertainment Guide

American Association of University Women Elects Officers

AAUW of Tehachapi


New and retiring AAUW officers were recognized at AAUW Annual Meeting. They are Joni Pogon-Cord, Sonja Wilson, Connie Lynch Crounse, Bugs Fonaine, and in the back, Anita Pritchard and Janice Armstrong.

American Association of University Women elected officers for the 2017-18 AAUW year which begins July 1. Sonja Wilson will succeed Jeannette Crouse as president. She will be assisted by Connie Lynch, Joan Cote, Anita Pritchard, Laura Amstead, Janice Armstrong, and Karen Shoen who will serve on the board in other positions.

Established in 1881, AAUW is a national association which advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. Membership is open to both men and women with a two year or higher degree upon payment of $89 yearly dues.

Tehachapi Mountain Branch of AAUW began in 1984. The branch maintains a special interest in providing local scholarships. On June 4 at their Scholarship Banquet, the branch will give about $10,000 to recent Tehachapi High School graduates. To date, they have granted over $210,000 in local scholarships.

Monthly AAUW branch meetings will resume in September, but interest groups such as Book Group, Great Decisions, Arts/ Crafts, and Lunch Bunch will continue throughout the summer. On June 14 the branch will have a special planning session for the new year.

Membership in the 2017-18 AAUW year is now being accepted. Call (571) 247-2143 or (661) 473-4669 for more information.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 12/10/2019 11:05